in ,

By-election results reject imposed government in Pakistan

The recent results of the by-election in 20 constituencies of Punjab, Pakistan’s most populous province indicate that people have rejected the current coalition government.  This is a serious blow to Nawaz Sharif’s Pakistan Muslim League (PMLN) and Bhutto’s Pakistan People’s Party (PPP).  The Hallmark of corruption brought PMLN and PPP together and united against Imran Khan and his Pakistan Tahreek-e-Insaf (PTI) lead government.

The current by-election was a consequence of political uncertainty following the withdrawal of support of PTI by 25 independents, they turned instead to support PMLN leader Hamza Sharif (the son of current PM Shahbaz Sharif) who became the Chief Minister of Punjab eight weeks ago. Shahbaz Sharif became PM in March after ousting democratically elected Imran Khan. The results also highlight people’s trust in democracy is stronger than ever.

PMLN leaders accept results with open heart while Imran Khan not only welcomed the results but also thanked his party workers.

The current results give PTI a clear majority to reclaim power in Punjab.  According to the results, PIT has 188 and PMLM lead coalition has 179 members.  Whereas the last Punjab election results in 2018 were, PTI had 159 and the coalition had 164 seats. 25 independents joined PTI and Pakistan Muslim League (PMLQ) backed PTI to form the government with 10 seats.

A few months ago, Pakistan’s cricket hero-turned politician Imran Khan’s government was overthrown through an unprecedented political drama followed by PMLN and PPP criticized in Senate.

When Imran Khan was ousted thousands of people come out in support, and the by-election results is an indication of a populace ready for a national election. Khan has called for early polls sooner than later to settle the new government in Pakistan.

Written by Hanif Bismi

Leave a Reply

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Sydney Disability Connection Expo 2022

Visiting councilor from India welcomed by The Sydney’s Hills Shire councilors